Fire Fighting in Canada

Uncategorized Emergency Management
Canada’s 2022 emergency management awards hands out 124 medallions

September 11, 2023 
By Avert staff

Canada’s federal, provincial and territorial awards program for emergency management celebrated 124 recipients last week in Ottawa.

Federal Emergency Preparedness Minister Harjit Sajjan and P.E.I Public Safety Minister Bloyce Thompson co-hosted the ceremony for the 2022 Emergency Management Exemplary Service Awards.

The 2022 recipients were given a medallion with an emblem designed by the Canadian Heraldic Authority to include all “all disciplines, all orders of government, all hazards and all regions,” Public Safety Canada said in a news release.

The recipients span emergency management professionals, volunteers and leaders representing governments, Indigenous communities, non-governmental organizations, youth, academia and professional associations.


Find the full list of 2022 recipients here.

In a news release, Sajjan congratulated the recipients for their efforts to help transform Canada’s emergency management landscape.

“Your hard work and dedication are deserving of our utmost respect and gratitude. I’m also grateful to provinces and territories for their collaboration to recognize these leaders and look forward to our continued work to award this prestigious honour to deserving individuals across the country,” Sajjan said.

Thomspon thanked the recipients and all individuals participating in the response to emergencies. ““As major emergency events become more recurring and closer to our backyards, we are grateful for and appreciate the commitment of our emergency management communities across Canada in keeping us safe. It was an honour to join my colleague Minister Sajjan, and other special guests in celebrating 124 very deserving individuals, their families, and organizations.”

Print this page


Stories continue below