Fire Fighting in Canada

Industry news News
OAFC 2012

The annual OAFC send-off banquet was more special for us than usual –
editor Laura King was honoured with the OAFC President’s Award,
recognizing her hard work in bringing the myriad issues that are front and
centre for the Ontario fire service to light. Photo by Alan Hooper.


May 7, 2012 
By Carey Fredericks

ah_120509_202134__dsc8669 ah_120509_210411__dsc8686
Former deputy fire marshal Doug
Crawford receives the A.J. Stone
Award from Bill Stone (left) and
OAFC President Tim Beckett.
Photo by Alan Hooper.
FFIC editor Laura King – who was
speechless at first but found her voice
later in the evening! – thanks OAFC
President Tim Beckett for his guidance,
support and endless explanations of
fire-service goings on during his
two-year term. Photo by Alan Hooper.

ah_120509_210627__dsc8688  dsc_1376
OAFC President Tim Beckett and
FFIC editor Laura King.
Photo by Alan Hooper. 
Burlington Fire Chief Shayne Mintz at
the president's reception at the OAFC
conference Wednesday night. Mintz
begins his new job as assistant deputy
fire marshal on May 28. 

dsc_1377 dsc_1378
OAFC president Tim Beckett (centre)
with Cathy Beckett (left) and Georgian
 Township Chief Jim Boswell
(Jen the blogger's chief!).
New OAFC president Kevin Foster at
 the president's reception Wednesday night.

OAFC first vice-president Matt Pegg with
Jim Allen, president of the Ontario
Association of Fire Training Officers
at the president's reception.

dsc_1382 dsc_1384
Outgoing OAFC board member and
Kingston Deputy Chief Neville Murphy,
 son Neville Jr., and Ian Davidson,
deputy minister of community safety.
Tim Beckett addresses colleagues at the
 president's reception.

dsc_1385 dsc_1387
Jane Beckett, daughter of outgoing
OAFC president Tim Beckett, at the
president's reception.
The president's reception Wednesday
evening at the close of the 60th annual
OAFC conference in Toronto.

Former Oakville chief Richard Boyes
and retired Cambridge chief Terry Allen
at the president's reception.

dsc_1390 dsc_1392
Caledon Fire Chief Brad Bigrigg and
Laura at the closing banquet of the
60th annual OAFC conference Wednesday.
Caledon Fire Chief Brad Bigrigg and
 Fire Prevention Officer Mark Wallace.

dsc_1394 dsc_1395
Safedesign's Don King and Fire Chief
Ian Laing of Central York.
Deep River Fire Chief Gene Thompson

Mike Stone at the OAFC banquet.

dsc_1408 dsc_1410
Bill and Debbie Stone, with Tim Beckett.  Bill and Debbie Stone.

Tim Beckett's closing remarks to
OAFC delegates and guests.

dsc_1437 dsc_1438
Oakville Fire Chief Lee Grant announces
the recipient of the Bill Williams
Humanitarian Award.  
Tim Beckett and Safedesign's Don King.

Tim Beckett and Safedesign's Don King
(right) present twice (!) retired chief
Chris Powers with the Bill Willimans
Humanitarian Award at the OAFC
banquet Wednesday night.

dsc_1448 dsc_1453
Tim Beckett presents OAFC
past-president Richard Boyes with the
traditional bugle for outgoing board
Tim Beckett presents outgoing longtime
 board member Neville Murphy with the
traditional bugle for outgoing board members.

dsc_1455 dsc_1460
Tim Beckett presents Shayne Mintz
with the traditional bugle for outgoing
board members. 
Bill Stone congratulate the OAFC on
60 years of fire-service progress.

dsc_1462 dsc_1464
OAFC photographer Alan Hooper has
a bit of fun with the evening's accessories!
Ontario Fire Marshal Ted Wieclawek
addresses guests at the OAFC's closing
banquet Wednesday evening. 

dsc_1480 dsc_1491
New OAFC president Kevin Foster tells
colleagues, dignitaries and guests that
he is committed to the relentless
pursuit of sprinklers. 
Longtime (and retiring!) OAFC employee
Elaine Hooper is recognized by Tim Beckett
and executive director Barry Malmsten
for her dedication. 

Cathy and Jane Beckett, beaming as they
 are recognized and thanked for their
support by outgoing OAFC president
 Tim Beckett.

dsc_1499 dsc_1500
New OAFC president Kevin Foster and Kim Foster. New OAFC president Kevin Foster's gives
a passionate speech about the work ahead. 

Georgian Township Chief Jim Boswell at
Wednesday night's closing banquet.

Up for the Foundation  organizers and volunteers
took a few minutes
during Saturday night's fundraiser for
the Canadian Fallen Firefighters
Foundation to enjoy the
fact that the online auction and the weekend
event raised
$26,500. The inaugural event, as part of the Ontario

Association of Fire Chiefs conference in Toronto, drew 250
fire chiefs,
training officers, firefighters, suppliers and
Photo by
Alan Hooper
M&L Supply team of (left) Steve Rose, Ian Maracle, Dave
Aitken and
Scott Maracle clinched the FFIC Open title Friday in
Toronto after a
putt off with two-time champions A.J. Stone. The
2012 champions are
pictured with Fire Fighting in Canada sales
manager and FFIC Open organizer Catherine Connolly.
photo2 3
Team Catherine Connolly, with Chris
Williamson, Jim Schneider and
Wilson Kell.
The winning team! Dave Aitken, Scott
Maracle, Steve Rose, Ian Maracle

5 6
Jeff Musser, Kip Cosgrove, Gord Mills
Geatano Gismondi.
Trevor McNally, Dave Pratt, Chuck 
Lewis and Rory Hunt

7 8
Bob Howsam, Dwayne McIntosh, 
Mike Figliola, John Darch

9  10
Dean Lester, Mike Harris, Glen
Attridge, Jeff Schultz
FFIC blogger and volunteer firefighter
Jennifer Mabee, and FFIC assistant
editor Olivia D'Orazio seemed to enjoy
their day out of the office!

20   4
FFIC columnist Peter Sells,
editor Laura King, Georgian Township
Fire Chief Jim Boswell
(blogger Jen's chief!)
and FESTI training
officer Brian Ross. 
Kip Cosgrove and Gord Mills.

9 11
  OAFC president and Kitchener Fire Chief
Tim Beckett, Oakville Deputy Chief Andy
 Glynn, OAFC first vice-president and
Midland Chief Kevin Foster, former
Oakville chief Richard Boyes. 

12 13
FFIC assistant editor Olivia D'Orazio
presents the award to John Darch
for longest drive, or was it closest
to the pin? We should have taken
notes . . . 
This guy won the prize that John Darch didn't!

14 16
SafeDesign's Don King at the OAFC
trade show on Monday.
 The VFIS booth . . . always entertaining!

17 18
The Novak's women, Leslie Clark and
Monika Sellers, with the OFM's 
Carol-Lynn Chambers. 
The M&L Supply booth at the OAFC trade

19 dsc_1318
  Sunday night's opening ceremony at the
60th annual OAFC conference.

dsc_1319 dsc_1322
Sunday night's opening ceremony
and memorial service recognizing
28 fallen fire officers.
 The pipes and drums . . . 

dsc_1323 dsc_1331
VFIS Canada's Kip Cosgrove introduces
speaker Gordon Graham at the OAFC
conference on Monday.
Slave Lake Fire Chief Jamie Coutts
wows delegates with his presentation
on the May 2011 wildfire with amazing
photos and stories. 

dsc_1329 dsc_1338
A dapper looking Fort Garry Fire Trucks
national sales manager Brian Nash
introduces Slave Lake Fire Chief Jamie
Coutts at the OAFC conference Monday
PEI's Glen Cox and his wife at the
Rupture Seal booth at the OAFC trade
show Monday afternoon.

dsc_1340   dsc_1343
  Waiting for the annual Simcoe County chiefs photo op (see below). 

dsc_1345 dsc_1359
 The OFM booth.   The Simcoe County chiefs!

dsc_1375 img-20120505-00534
King Township Deputy Chief Jim Wall and Chief Bryan Burbidge show off their new public education vehicle! FFIC assistant editor Olivia D'Orzaio and Hamilton Fire training officer Don Sherron. 

img-20120505-00536 img-20120505-00539
 FFIC assistant editor Olivia D'Orazio at Oakville Fire's training centre on Saturday, ith editor Laura King.  FFIC editor Laura King and Jen the Blogger at Ladders Up!

 Fire Marshal Ted Wieclawek addresses OAFC delegates Tuesday morning.  

Print this page


Stories continue below