Fire Fighting in Canada

Headlines News Hot topics
Ontario Medal for Firefighter Bravery awarded to 41 firefighters

June 19, 2024 
By Jared Dodds

June 19, 2024, Toronto — The provincial government selected 41 firefighters to receive the 2023 Ontario Medal for Firefighter Bravery.

The medal represents the provinces highest honour for firefighters and is given to individuals who have demonstrated great courage in risking their lives to save the lives of others.

Firefighters earned the distinction this year for a number of acts, including saving citizens from fiery car crashes, teamwork with police to stop an instance of domestic violence, and rescuing survivors from a building collapse.

Recipients of the award are determined by an independent body of citizens from firefighting communities across Ontario who review nominations directly from fire departments, the province said in a press release.


The province has recognized 302 firefighters since the creation of the medal in 1976.

This year’s recipients include:

London Fire Department

  • First Class Firefighter Mark Archibald
  • Firefighter Patrick Bradley
  • Firefighter John D. Campbell
  • Senior Qualified Firefighter Jason Allen Carter
  • Firefighter Eric Conway
  • First Class Firefighter Erik Elmauer
  • Firefighter Adam Froats
  • Firefighter Kevin Funston
  • Captain Randy Geene
  • Firefighter Scott Givlin
  • Captain Todd Groves
  • Firefighter Ian Guy
  • Firefighter Connor Hanenburg
  • Firefighter Christopher Hare
  • First Class Firefighter Jason Patrick Kennedy
  • Firefighter James King
  • Firefighter Mitchell Knight
  • Captain Peter Lapkowski
  • Firefighter Marc Leveille
  • Captain Joseph Livingstone
  • Senior Qualified Firefighter Jason Lundy
  • Captain Derrick G. Martin
  • Senior Qualified Firefighter Jeff Montgomery
  • Firefighter Cole Nicholson
  • Captain Steven Prior
  • Firefighter Parmbir Rai
  • Senior Qualified Firefighter Michael W. Reed
  • Firefighter Brandon Rhea
  • Captain Justin Salt
  • Senior Qualified Firefighter Michael Sophocleous
  • First Class Firefighter Bradly Stallman
  • Firefighter Pat Stephenson
  • Firefighter Mitchell Thomas
  • Firefighter Scott Turkheim

Brock Township Fire Department

  • Captain Jesse Beaudrow

Brampton Fire and Emergency Services

  • Captain Jeff Clayton

Caledon Fire and Emergency Services

  • Deputy Fire Chief Jeff Fairbarn (formerly Captain)
  • Firefighter Brandon DiMonte

Town of Greater Napanee Fire Department

  • Firefighter Mackenzie Grosvenor

Toronto Fire Services

  • Firefighter Eric Hannah
  • Captain David Tschinkel

Print this page


Stories continue below